siphoning all water out of aquarium a bad idea?

May 27, 2012
had a question about my tank. Ive had the aquarium about 3 or 4 months now, after month 1 i switched to a sand substrate. the water was cloudy at first then settled about 3-4 days later and was crystal clear until i did my next 1/3 water change, i read on an online forum that every once in a while you need to stir up the sand a little every once in a while to release gas pockets, this was about month 2. since then it seems like the water never gets clear so im wondering if maybe siphoning a majority of the water and replacing my filter cartridge at the same time do the trick? im still relatively new to this so im looking for all the help i can get and please refrain from negative comments any help asap would be much appreciated, thanks

skjl47

Large Fish
Nov 13, 2010
Northeastern Tennessee.
Hello; No clear what help taking all water out will be. Sounds to me as thou the sand is dirty. If sand was not cleaned thoroughly it will yield cloudy fine stuff any time it is disturbed.
One approach could be to siphon out some sand when doing a regular water change. The sand should move thru a siphon hose. Then give that sand a good rinse before putting it back into the tank. If you have extra sand on hand it can be cleaned and ready to put back into the tank. This can be repeated with each water change over a period of a few weeks and you should be able to maintain the cycle.
If I have misunderstood the issue, please repost with more info.

May 27, 2012
before i got this reply i stumbled across something that basically told me what you did. I read a couple forums that were talking about using pillow stuffing behind the cartridge to do 2 things. 1) provide extra filtration and 2) create a sort of housing area for the good bacteria. So my next question would be this