Smelly water

Aug 10, 2005
Marietta, Ohio
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here. Also a newbie with fish. I just set up my tank over the weekend and got my fish on Monday. Today is Wednesday, and the water has clouded up and has a strange odor to it. The fish seem happy, but it smells funky.

10 gallon tank
2 Silver Mollies
2 Black Mollies
3 Orange Mollies
1 Plecostomus

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
"strange smelling" could be pretty much anything from ammonia to the normal fishtank smell that kinda smells earthy...like dirt sort of.

The cloudyness is normal for a new tank, probably a bacterial bloom...which is a good thing.

Since you just set your tank up you might want to check out the cycling threads (stickied at the top of the beginner forum) and get some ammonia/nitrite and nitrate test kits...so you know how your cycle is going.

May 9, 2005
West Haven, CT
Definately check out cycling.
Do you have a test kit (very necessary) aquapharm is my personal fav. they have a comprehensive one for ammonia, no3 no2, and pH.

Look forward to changing your water frequently if you haven't cycled, to keep the water healthy (readings of 0 if you get aquapharm testers).

svetlana

Large Fish
Feb 16, 2005
Gaithersburg, MD
home.uchicago.edu
Your tank looks overcrowded. If you did not cycle your tank you should have awfully high ammonia levels. Check out - your fish might feel bad already. Pleco has to go to bigger tank eventually. You'd better take couple of cories and get rid of couple of mollies.

LongTime

Large Fish
May 16, 2004
Florissant, MO
Visit site
No way the tank could have cycled "over the weekend". The ammonia levels have to be high. NTS will likely start killing the fish. :( If you don't want to use a chemical do a 1 to 2 gal water change in the morning and in the evening every day for at least 10 days. If you want a chemical, and you should at least do a 1 to 2 gal water change every couple of days, use Prime. I do not recommend Ammo Loc.