Snail Owner To Be

Jul 13, 2005
I am going to get a snail but here is my question,Are water snails a good choice for a beginer or does it really matter?I have the tank and everything for a few snails.But just what kind of snail should I get?My grandma has a big garden too,should I look for a snail there?

garden snails won't survive in the aquarium, just go to a walmart or something and get an apple snail, i'm no expert on snails but if you get a few snails your going to end up with baby snails eventually so one is enough, unless all the snails you have are either all males or females or if you want baby snails.... if you dont have plants then most of the big snails in your lfs's will be good choices for your tank

Cutlass

Large Fish
May 16, 2003
Galloway, OH
Visit site
I really wouldn't recommend getting more than one because like Balloon Fish said they are bound to multiply exponentially. I almost swear you can drop a pair of snails in a bucket of rubbing alcohol and they'll still thrive and breed. They're easy to keep - you pretty much don't have to think about it. What size is your tank? If it's large, one snail isn't going to be of much use and it'll be mostly for show then.

DarkMuse

Medium Fish
May 12, 2005
Kentucky
I have one snail (luckly I believe it is a male because I have never had eggs) in a 10 gal. Another thing you need to consider is it poops ALOT!!! It gets everywhere and it is hard to get it all with a gravel vac. (and this is only one week). You will also need to make sure the top is covered and any holes are covered as well, because they will escape.

My son loves the snail though. Everynight before we go to bed we have to find it to tell it good night. lol He's 2 what can I say. :) I believe it is a tactic to stay awake longer!

Jan 16, 2004
Syracuse, NY