Some Fish Suggestions

Toggil

Large Fish
Jun 10, 2006
Endicott NY
Hi everyone, in the next couple months I'll be starting a 75 gallon reef tank. My plan is for about 100 pounds of LR and a DSB.

My problem is that I'm not experienced at all in SW and am just starting to read about all the different fish. I was hoping for suggestions about fish you have kept and liked because of interesting personalities or nice colors or whatever reason.

I'm planning on having peaceful fish only and they need to be reef and invert safe.

Thanks.

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
In Michael Paletta's book he has some suggestions for a peaceful community tank depends on how much activity you want your fish to have. I like wrasses and clowns and blennies/gobies, cardinals all are peaceful reef safe fish and suitable for a 75g. Just remember to take things slow and easy does it. Read the stickies and you will be fine.

Toggil

Large Fish
Jun 10, 2006
Endicott NY
Yeah I've been researching SW tanks since like december, as far as setting up and cycling and everything I've got that down. I just realized though that I had barely even thought of what I wanted to go into my tank.

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
I started researching fish when my cycle was coming to an end :p

I went with some gobies, banggai and pajama cardinals, a couple of flasher wrasses and an orchid dottyback. All are fairly hardy and peaceful. I found it good to get the "hardy" fish, as they're more forgiving of beginners' mistakes.

I hope you have a quarantine tank planned :)

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
fairy wrasses totally under rated and a great fish for a community tank. Add to the list a small pygmy/dwarf angel and you have a showy tank of active swimmers who are not overly aggressive. Dottybacks as a rule tend to be the most aggressive of that mix but not if you add them at the right time.

Toggil

Large Fish
Jun 10, 2006
Endicott NY