Someone please help!

cris

New Fish
Jul 20, 2004
Visit site
I am new at this and need a little help!!! I have had a freshwater tank for several years now and trying to start with a saltwater tank. I have already noticed it can be a little expensive, so I wanted to make sure I could be successful at it before purchasing a larger tank--so I am using a ten gal...... I have used my filter from my old tank---i have taken out my airstone....because it was creating salt creep........the tank has been up for several months now---I am using distilled water and making my water changes---all my levels are fine except for my nitrites---I have managed to kill a few snails----and a damsel----I need help on what I am doing wrong????? Now, I have about 8 lbs if live rock and no fish...
Should I be changing my filter's carbon??????
Can I kill what is on my live rock too????

Can someone help????

S.Reef

Superstar Fish
Dec 1, 2003
Michigan
Well...it would have been a little smarter to research. Basically anyone would say you started to small. But since its already up and running lets see how we can help.

First what kind of filter are you using? Are you using a protein skimmer? What is the salinity of your tank?How long ago did you add the live rock? Was it cured? How often do you do water changes? These things are really important in determing how to help.

If you are using a UGF get rid of the carbon. Those cartridges are not meant for saltwater use. If you are using some knd of power filter make sure the carbon is meant for saltwater. You can replace it once a month. On to your last question, yes you can kill the organisms on your live rock. However those organisms are quite hardy and probably won't die unless the conditions in the tank are very inappropriate.

Sam Reef

cris

New Fish
Jul 20, 2004
Visit site