STARTING A NEW TANK!! HELP!!

Jul 3, 2004
Visit site
I'm starting a new 50 gal tank and I would like to buy somethings to start the tank out with. Live Rock, live sand, crushed coral or anything else that I can get. If anyone can help me out please let me know.

If you have any Ideals that you can think of that I might need to know please tell me because Im very new to saltwater. And want to have a healthly tank.

Im not dumb on saltwater I have been reading up on it for some time now and its time for me to start and I just want to do things clean and healthly. Thanks to everyone on here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
well...first off, what is your setup looking like as far as skimming, lighting etc? this stuff is important

I'm not sure what "i would like to buy something to start the tank out with" means exactly...but i took that to mean your tank is setup and ready to be cycled...of course, a good start before live rock would be water...

buy LR and sand are easy...go to the LFS for the rock and look around till you find the coarsness of sand you want...if you want sand sand you can get playground sand at the hardware store...as I am sure you know from your reading it is best to add the substrate after you do your aquascaping and establish a stable arrangement for the LR...i would seriously considering putting the rock on some egg crate just for safety sake...i did not do this in my 20g nano but in the new 55 :)D) I will be doing this...learn from our errors and whatnot

Fishatron

Small Fish
Jun 20, 2004
Visit site
what aspect do you need help on? I recommend spending some time looking at other member's posts so you can get an idea of the type of maintainance that has to be done on your tank. Take note there are some "sticky" threads on the board. They are the most frequently asked questions and extremely helpful!