Starting fresh, need advice for planted tank.

newman187

Medium Fish
Mar 28, 2005
Salt Lake City, UT
Hello, This is my first post, i guess you could say i'm a noob to this forum.

I am a recent salt water victim, I tried as I might and kept healthy fish, and clean water, but lost to an ever lasting cyano bacteria battle so I gave up, its a long and sad story, but i'm not here to bore you with my failure in salt water and am requesting your advice for a fresh water tank that will be planted.

Before any one freaks on me I spent about 2 hours + on the main tank, and at least an hour cleaning out the sump including scraping, scrubbing, and using hydrogenperoxide to disinfect the tank so there should be no salt present nor should there be any bacteria or algea left in the tank.

My tank as it is now:
55 Gallon show tank, 48" long, 24" high, 18" deep (i beleive) with overflow and sump.
1 rio 1700 return pump
220 w power compact (10k, and 6500k blue)
protien skimmer
PH controller (the green one dont know the brand name, I forgot)

I have future plans for the following:
CO2 regulator with automatic shutoff (presurized tank)
Emperor 400 wet/dry filter

I have already purchased the substrate I will not be using an undergravel filter as I want to grow a plant tank as described above. I'm using neutrient rich substrate (30 lbs) mixed with bacteria rich substrate (20 lbs), and some epoxy coated rocks (20 lbs), I forgot the names, I will repost when I get home tonight.

I have money to spend, and have already spent about 80 bucks on the substrate, and will be purchasing the co2 injector and wet/dry filter soon, and have plans to use the sump to grow the java moss, the sump will have a grow light in the refuge area, and need advice weather I need bio balls or not, or if I should use my skimmer, maybe you can tell me that.