Stealthy wet/dry trickle filters?

Jan 4, 2010
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to aquariums, I had a few fish as a [smaller] kid, but I've decided to build my own tank as a project.

I've already completed the tank, but I didn't really leave myself room for a large hang on back filter- I had to get the smallest one I could find, and I'm not sure it'll be sufficient for m 5 gallon tank (the filter is 3.5" wide >.<).

I was researching filters, and it seems like the wet/dry filters are the best bet- but I'm not sure if it'll be overkill for me. I just want to keep a few ottos/guppies/tetras/danios- haven't decided yet. Anyway, I was going to build my own, I'm pretty handy, but it sounds like these things are going to be pretty noisy..

So my two questions are:
  1. How loud are trickle filters? and;
  2. Do they smell? (Can I keep it in my dorm room without my intolerant roommate killing me)

Thanks!
Robanada

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
you want all that in a 5 gal tank? no filter can compensate for overstocking. I'd say you can have either one oto and one guppy or two guppies in that tank...
not much options when you have a small 5 gal sorry :(

And a wet/dry filter for a 5 gal is indeed overkill. any filter, even a DIY sponge filter could take care of the 5 gal.

Jan 4, 2010
Nooo, haha, what i meant was a few ottos, or guppies, or tetras, or danios. Probably tops 3 or 4 fish, eh?

My goal is to have really, really clear water, because, as the tank is part of a larger project, one must be able to view through the tank, to what is behind. I also understand that biological filtering is important, and I didn't think my HOB waterfall filter would do that...or does it?

Edit: it might be useful to mention that it's a disproportionately tall tank, only 90 in^2 on the top.

Last edited:

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
every filter that has any sort of floss or sponge element to it and water running through that element will have biological filtration.