Still setting up

Apr 12, 2006
I am new to the hobby and currrently just started stocking with 6 tiger barbs and 4 albino cory cats in a 55gal, its been about 2 months, doesnt include the month of fishless cycling.... I've been reading up and was thinking about giving my tiger barbs away (if I have to, but not sure), keeping the cory cats and adding these fish to the tank, not all at once of course.... Please tell me what you think.

1 Elephant nose
1 Rainbow shark
4 glass cats
some angels

Not sure if all the fish mentioned are compatible though, thats the problem, any opinions on this would be great. I really want the angels and elephant nose though, so not sure what else I could get or add.

tessalion

Large Fish
Jun 4, 2006
PA
From what i've heard the tiger barbs prolly wouldn't be a good idea if you wanted the angels...but i'm just speaking from research not experience. Hopefully someone else will chime in :)

Tiger Barbs + Angels = Finless Angels. :D

Also, you may want to reconsider the rainbow shark. They can be quite aggressive, with tendencies to 'bully'. On the other hand, they can also be a good community fish with the right tank mates.

I have four glass cats myself, and I love 'em. One thing about them...they require shelter (they love hiding in the plants) and water movement. I have two cannister filters and three bubblers in my 75g and they seem to like that just fine, though I have a small powerhead that I've been meaning to hook up to create some current.

I don't know much about the elephant nose...in fact, if you know where I can find some info on it, I'd be appreciative. :)

Oh, and if you do decide to go with the angels (and likely discarding the barbs), be sure to add all your angels in together. I lost my favourite angel by not doing that.

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado