Sump Design

Limi310

Superstar Fish
Nov 30, 2005
Charlotte, NC
Since this is my first attempt at building a sump (or anything having to do with plumbing) I wanted to post my design and get some feedback.

The sump will be made from a 37gal tall tank filled to about 16inches. The incoming water is going to flow into a corner compartment, then overflow into the refugium part of the sump. Then water will flow through a series of baffles into the return. There will be extra room in the return section for things like heater, and carbon if I need to use it, etc. I'll be using an HOB overflow rated at 600gph for water going into the sump and a mag 7 for return.
Also in the refugium section I was going to silicone a small eggcrate grid on the side for a mangrove holder.
I'll probably get a clip on shop type light.
My main reasons for having a sump is to grow macroalgea and increased water volume and flow.....so I am debating on if I should add LR rubble to the sump or sand :confused: What would you do?

I'm not the best at paint....but here is what I am picturing:

One more question.....I have the Aqua C Remora skimmer....wondering if anyone has modified it to go inside a sump. It won't be able to HOB of the sump because of the lowered water volume. Worst comes to worst, I'll just have to hang in on the display.
Thanks for looking :) Please comment opinions.

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana
Limi.....I also have a remora hob and I think I can modify it to an urchin.....You just need a longer flex tube so the pump sits down in the water. I think you may have to upgrade the pump so it doesn't lose anything. I have a mag 3 on my pro and I may up it to a mag 7 and get the larger collection cup. The only issue I think maybe the height under the cabinet....but I will let you know......(mine is currently still hanging on the display) I hate to get something different unless I could sell it for what an Urchin pro would cost....or at least close

Limi310

Superstar Fish