Taking my friend's pleco + 6 danios because she's moving...

Nov 23, 2012
I already have danios, so they aren't a problem, but she doesn't know what kind of pleco it is. I looked on every website imaginable and I have this horrible sinking feeling that it's a common pleco. I just needed someone to confirm my doom for me. It's only about 2.5 inches now...

They are currently in a 20 gal while my 50 gal is getting a leak repaired (should be done tomorrow)... I know common plecos eventually need 100+ gal but there is no way on earth I can afford one. I deliver pizza for a living!

I haven't had a pleco since I was very little. If it is indeed a common pleco, how big before I'll need to rehome from the 50? How fast will it grow? Is there any possibility at all that it might stay small enough for the 50?

on another note, one of my older danios is being a bit of a fin nipper... will this stop when he gets used to the newcomers or should I take some kind of action? Only one seems to be bit up, though he has been chasing the others around some.

pleco picture coming right up...

Dec 14, 2011
WI
Your fears were correct, unfortunately. That's a common pleco. I'd honestly try to pawn him off on a pet shop as soon as possible, especially while he's still small. I don't know for sure when he'll need a bigger tank, so I'm sorry that I can't help you there. I had one for a long time, and he got to be probably 10 inches before I finally gave him away. Let me tell you though, he was a nightmare. He pooped all the time, so my tank had several extremely long poo strands clinging to stuff a lot. He also got spooked really easily, so he'd flip out and knock everything over in my tank on a semi-daily basis.

All in all, he was pretty terrible. I've since gotten a bristle-nose and she's much calmer, not to mention smaller.

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod