test result question

Apr 7, 2005
NUNYA
Ok this is confusing. :confused: I have a Freshwater Master Test Kit made bye Aquarium Pharmaceutical's.
I tested my water this morning and this is what results that my tests show

PH 7.2
NITRITES 2.0
NITRATES 20
AMMONIA 2.5

I just got back from taking a water sample to my LFS and they used the QUICK DIP tests. They had 3 different bottles, and she wrote down the results for me and even showed me what they were and here they are:

PH 8.4
CHLORINIE 0
AMMONIA .25
NITRITE 10
NITRATE 50
HARDNESS 300
ALKALINITY 180

my nitrite and nitrate is way off from between the 2 tests. Why are the 2 tests so different and it's the same water.
And which of the results do I go by? And what are they telling me???

I got a brainy idea to test their Nitrite level in their water, so when I brought some home I tested it with my Nitrite tester and sure enough theirs is 0. Whats going on?

Grrrrr this is confusing :confused:

Apr 22, 2003
NYC
shellvergel.blogspot.con
test strips are notorious for being very inaccurate. Liquid tests are much more trustworthy, tests such as the one you have. Try testing yours again, and see if it gives you the same results. If you know of any other LFSs, then perhaps you can see if you can get another opinion there. But again, I wouldn't trust a test strip at all.

Apr 7, 2005
NE Ohio
If I was you I wouldn't trust the dip test kits. I've heard nothing good, and I've never had good readings using them. Now unless they're Nitrite reading is actually 1.0mg/l that's not nearly as bad as 10. Of course you want that at zero, but 10 is just not even on the charts. If you have any other doubts, find a friend or an LFS that doesn't test with the dip sticks, and see what it comes out as.

If you're tank has been cycling properly for a while, then your test readings are more realistic then what the LFS came out at. When and doubt, run your tests again tonight, and see if you get around the same results. If you do, trust yours.