Thinking about baby bettas?

Mar 11, 2003
There are many things that go into considering and actually breeding bettas. I am just a beginner myself, but have researched the topic so much that I could tell you anything about every topic on betta breeding. I suggest anyone thinking about breeding bettas do the same. Anyway, here are some things that are a MUST have with betta spawning.

*Food for the fry- People have tried to raise fry on non-live foods, but have reported that it was unsuccessful. You will NEED microworms (vinegar eels can be fed with microworms or as a substitute for them) and Baby Brine Shrimp (newly hatched sea monkeys). You will need to get these cultures a MONTH in advance so you can subculture them into a bunch of established cultures.

*Food for conditioning the pair- A conditioned pair means fry that are in good condition. The better the food, the better the outcome. I condition with freeze dried shrimp and bloodworms, along with pellets.

*Thermometer and Heater- Water should be set at 80*F. Do not let the temperature do darastic changes, or it will kill your fry. The heater should be 5 watts/gallon (ie. if you have a 5 gallon, it should be a 25 watt heater).

*A spawning tank- It doesn't matter the size. I have had a pair in a 20 gallon with no luck, and I have had a pair spawn in a 1 gallon bowl. The tank should be filled with 4-6 inches of dechlorinated water.

*Stress Zyme, biospira, or a seasoned sponge filter- The tank needs to have benefitial bacteria so it will not have ammonia or nitrite spikes. If you are not using a sponge filter add an airstone after the fry are free swimming to prevent belly sliders (swim bladder problems).

*Hiding spaces for the female- The female will need to have a break from the male after spawning is over, and during the "get-to-know you" phase at the beginning of spawning.