Thinking about doing SW

Avalon

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Ft. Worth, TX
www.davidressel.com
I have a 10g tank that I would like to make a SW tank.
Since I'm a rookie in this department, I need some help.

I want a simple tank, with live rock and live sand. A few damsels (maybe 4) would be great, along with whatever is growing on the rock, and maybe a couple shrimps if they will work. I have a HOB filter, and a 32w PC 50/50 light already.

My questions are (feel free to cut & paste for reply):

Should live rock be added when setting the tank up or wait until later?

Is an oversized HOB filter enough for water current or should I find a small powerhead?

I'm sure I need more light. How much more for LR and what K bulbs are recommended?

What special care does LR need (additives, etc)?

Any other advice? I'll keep studying :) Thanks!

Aug 3, 2003
Laurel, MD