thinking of going saltwater

Sep 19, 2006
I've never done a saltwater tank before. I would really like to take this 100gal I bought (acrylic) and make it a saltwater tank I think, but I know nothing.

I have the tank, stand, and a "up to 100gal" filter (which is relatively new, still has box,but had been used for a couple of months with goldfish)

Make a shopping list for me, so I can check online prices and see costs please. I'm ready the sticky and it's just going in my brain and muddling around not making much sense. (I don't mean fish... let's say I planned on putting a few clown fish(nemo) and a couple of those blue or yellow fish (dory) (sorry don't know the names of fish) What I'm looking for is a shopping list compared to what it would cost me to set up this tank as a fresh water.

What's a protien skimmer? (I mean it's purpose)

Give me an idea of care level. Like 25% water change once a week or every 2 weeks? Check same water parimeters as on fresh water every day? Check salinity once a day? I guess I'm looking for the level of care versus the fresh water.

One other thing, how do you mix the salt and water before you put it in the tank when doing a water change? Do you do 5 gals at a time with a bucket?

Sorry these probably sound like really dumb questions to you experts, but I'd rather know what I was getting into before I decide "oooo pretty fish, let's do salt water" and then end up killing a few fish, getting frustrated and turn it into a freshwater because I can't hack it.

Thanks!

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod