To Tang or not to Tang?

Aug 17, 2008
I am relatively new to the saltwater hobby and I am trying to decide whether I should buy a Blue or yellow Tang, or neither. I've always loved the Tang fish in general, and I'd like to add a little color to my tank. I have a 50 gallon tank with a few decorations, two small clown fish, and a small damsel fish. I've read that the Blue Tang is less aggressive than the yellow Tang but is more prone to disease and can grow bigger, up to 12 inches. Is that true? And how long would it take to become that big?? I'm worried that I won't have enough room for that fish, or even a yellow one, but I've heard from others that they have had Tangs for a few years and theirs aren't more than 5 inches long. Is 50 gallons enough? And if I had to upgrade at some point, is 75 gallons big enough at that point? Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

zoalover34

Superstar Fish
Jun 5, 2006
Kent, OH
I wouldn't put 1 in a 50gallon tank.. Some may say a 75 is to small also but i think a yellow would be fine in a 75.. Yellows are the easyiest to keep from what ive heard.. HTH

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
A tang won't do well in a 50g tank. I think you could do a yellow tang in a 75g, but a blue tang needs something like 100g or more. Most recommend that you don't put a tang in a tank that's less than 5 feet in length as they need the swimming room.

TRe

Elite Fish
Feb 20, 2005
ft. lauderdale
i wouldnt evn consider a tang it that tank.... id say a 75g would be a minimum, i couldnt imagine my blue tang in anything less than 6' and evn that sometimes i feel is a bit on the small side... with that said how bout a nice wrasse?
HTH

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana