Trying to diagnose a problem in my tank- help!

May 21, 2007
Michigan
Hi, as you can tell I'm a newbie, in search of some solid help.

A couple of weeks ago, our silver molly started swimming vertically (kind of floating). Everything else was normal with him, so we wrote it off as some kind of mating dance. That lasted about a week and a half.

We are so new at this.

Anyway, the past few days, he's been lying sideways (not flat), but still swimming up to eat. We assumed he had been injured, and there was nothing we could do.

Yesterday, two of our black molly's took to the bottom as well. One was dead by morning, along with the first silver molly, by midday. The second black molly is swimming erratically and I'm sure won't be with us by morning.

We've been to the pet store to ask questions. The expert there said to first check the water (everything was normal) and to pump more air into the tank. She said it would help oxygenate the water in case the fish had overeaten. She said it would be a waste of money to mess with any medicinal additive.

Done.

I see no signs of illness (growths, popeye, etc) aside from what I've written. There haven't been any new introductions (fish, plants, equipment) in a couple of months.

We don't overfeed, and the water and filters are changed/cleaned regularly. The temperature is fine.

What could have caused this? And do we have to be concerned about our other fish?

Should I bother moving the last sick fish to a hospital tank, or would it be too late?

Any information would be appreciated. We don't even know if we could add an additive (like Jungle Fungus Clear) or medicated food to the main tank. Would it hurt the healthy fish? Would it help prevent this unknown 'infestation'?

Thanks for a quick reply.

We're cleaning out the tank again tonight, adding salt (we hadn't before), and hoping for more information from the pet store. true

MissFishy

Superstar Fish
Aug 10, 2006
Michigan