Type of canister

schwartzy

Small Fish
Jan 23, 2005
Visit site
What do you masters on these forums know about the Jebo/odyssea line of canisters. Im looking at going with the canisters for my 180 gallon and am thinking of 2 jebo 828 canisters. The new ones with a gph of around 300 each. Or is eheim the way to go for sure? Also what ya think of the fluval line. I am thinking im gonna need 2 of the canisters for sure? A sump is not an option because of the drilling issue I dont want to deal with. I am a rookie bigtime to canisters as I just have a 45 gallon freshwater with a topfin 60 on it. Thank you.

dss2004

Large Fish
Oct 1, 2004
Frisco, Texas
www.freewebs.com
I think you are going to need more than that. I think you should be shooting for a full tank cycle around 8-10 times an hour, ecspecially in a tank that large. Right now you are just barely over 3 times an hour. I think this is why so mnay people use sumps in large tanks.

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
canisters are not the best way to go, they just cause problems and they also are expensive. if you dont want to fill your tank up with powerheads (understandable) you could consider a closed loop system with a big old pump

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
Rio makes a Seio pump which goes up to 1700gph and a couple which are in the 600-800 range. A better pump (but of course a bit more spendy) is the Tunze Turbelle Stream pump. this is probably considered to be the premiere pump on the market right now. a nice feature is that the flow can be electronically controlled and they come in a range from somewhere like 600gph to 3000gph. if it was me and money was not an issue (and drilling was not an option) i would go either for the closed loop or the Tunzes

schwartzy

Small Fish
Jan 23, 2005
Visit site