Unknown thing in my tank

cassie2

Small Fish
Sep 12, 2005
Ontario
Hi all,
I've got a wierd question - I'm pretty new to all this and have no idea what is in my tank.

I have a 10 gallon tank with 1 male and 4 female platies, some ornaments, some live plants, some fake plants.
I have 2 gallon mini tank for babies.

Background: The tank in question is a 2 gallon plastic mini tank that has a mini filter and a 7.5 watt heater on a timer. In it are some live plants and 10 baby platies. 6 are about 2 months old, 4 are about 1 month old. I do water changes every few days out of the 10 gallon tank, vacuum weekly, chemicals are all ok (all within "safe" ranges - have some nitrites, 0 nitrate, 0 ammonia). There are a couple or more little brown snails that came in on the plants.

Question: Stuck to the walls of the tank are 4 or 5 little pea sized balls of jelly like substance - clear jelly with white specks or dots inside.
WHAT ARE THESE??? Should I be concerned? Anything I should do? Are the fish ok? I have not noticed these in the 10 gallon tank.

Also, How big do my platy babies have to be before I can put them into the big tank? I've read "big enuf so they don't fit into the adults' mouths" - but what exactly does that mean???

Update on my earlier question - in 10 gallon tank, my female and male are still badly chasing the other female, and the last two females are still mostly left alone. I had the tank separator in for about 5 days, and when I took it out, the chasing resumed. The one being chased seems a bit less stressed than before the separator, but still hides in the ornament sunken ship fairly regularly. There are still some torn fins.

Thanks much!!

Cheryl

PlecoCollector

Superstar Fish
Aug 21, 2005
Clinton, NY
Those are snail eggs, I get them too.