What anemone is this?

Navyblue

Medium Fish
Feb 24, 2004
Visit site
Heteractis Crispa

Hi All,

I'm rather new to reef keeping, Can anyone help me to identify what anemone is this? Its green tips is only visible when light is turned on.

Thanks.

Last edited:

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
this is ridiculous....how can you buy stock and not know what it is? Do you know anything about its living requirements? how big it gets? anything...this is very irresponsible reef keeping and this is how the hobby gets a bad name...i sincerely hope you start researching more extensively your purchases

that said, i have no idea what you have there and i do hope somebody can help you out so you know what you have gotten involved in

Navyblue

Medium Fish
Feb 24, 2004
Visit site
Well I asked the LFS owner whether would my system be able to support it, and apparently I can keep it. I would not buy something that I can't keep. Of course, providing that the store owner is telling me the truth.

Its just that I don't know what is it called (common name and scientific name). That particular LFS doesn't label with "proper names", as people here are not so well versed in English especially in the area of nomenclature. And even though they did, it will very be very likely that it will differ from the "mainstream terminology" that you see in the internet. Basically it is only possible for me to match their appearance if I can find them on the net to identify them. and unfortunately I can't.

wayne

Elite Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Go to wetwebmedia.com, and dig round till you fing anemones under marine - non vertebrate life (1?).
What light do you have - one thing is likely, with that sort of colouring if you don't have metal halides it's done for. I also hope that you have pretty ( very) good water conditions, and bear in mind that anemones often make very poor reef inhabitants as they tend to attack and kill corals.
Bet your lfs didn't tell you that!

catfishmike