What dows corals eat?

Apr 11, 2006
Hi, I new to reef keeping. I want to know what type of food do corals eat? I have 1 purple star polyps, 1 yellow polyps, and 1 button polyps(purple and yellow dot in the middle). My purple star polyps has been living for a months now and show no sign of dying and is doing great. I never fed it anything. Today, I went and bought two more corals and was thinking to myself, they have to eat something. The associate told me to buy some kent marine food for it, but I did not think it is necessary because my star polyps did fine without anything. Is it neccessary?? Could I overcrowd my 20 gallon tanks with coral like fish?? Like I said before, I am new to this hobbie and any advices will be greatly appreciate.

ram man

Superstar Fish
Apr 16, 2005
Arizona
zoanthids? if so these in my expirience wont eat, they get their food from photosynthetic(is that the word) algae that lives in them. what is you loighting? how many watts over what size of tank?

Apr 11, 2006
Yes, I am sorry, it is zoanthids. So you said, they only get their food from photosythesis. Ok, thanks for your help. Oh, by the way, do these specie reproduce at all, at what rate??

KahluaZzZ

Superstar Fish
Jun 12, 2004
Montreal, Quebec
Visit site
yep they can reproduce fast, but my friends and i experienced different kinds with different results. Some just never reproduce, other just flourish, making zillions of babies. They require light as primary source of food, but on the long run they may need some microscopic plankton or filter feeder food. Well if you use frozen mysid or brine shrimps, there's always some particules left from the juice that they can catch. Some people feed 'em one by one but it think it's a little bit 2 much...good flow, frozen food for the fishies and they might have a lunch. They love strong lights.

Apr 11, 2006