What is the best floor liner

pancho

Small Fish
Apr 19, 2009
Houston, TX
Hi this is my first time on this site and first time with a salt water fish tank, I have two tanks a 30 gallon (in cycle) and a 55 gallon (setting up). My question is for my 55 gallon is what should I use for the floor of the tank, I seen some with gravel, some with sand, and crushed coral. the lady at the fish store recommended crushed coral but I wanted to get a second opinion. I just want to have a mini finding nemo tank for my nephew and nieces to look at not really any coral just fishes.

Lotus

Ultimate Fish
Aug 26, 2003
Southern California
home.earthlink.net
Sand is the best. Crushed coral will trap detritus, and lead to nitrate problems in the long term. A fine sand is both attractive and practical. You don't need to buy live sand, but make sure it is meant for saltwater tanks.

Edit: Welcome to the site :D

pancho

Small Fish
Apr 19, 2009
Houston, TX
Thank you for the info, is the sand easy to clean? or how do i keep the sand clean? and is there anything specific i should look for in the sand? and thank you for welcoming me.

Last edited:

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana