What temp. is too high

Anja

New Fish
May 25, 2009
Texas
I have ICH *SICK* &Mouthrot in my tank, lost our goldfish last night :( I keep reading to raise the temputure and add salt BUT....not all fish can handle higher temps right? I'm new to this & just want to help my poor fish! I had treated for ich and then for the fungus but it seems neither is leaving! I've done PWC & my water is good as far as all the stuff it needs to have so....what am I doing wrong? Thanks for all your imput!!

janis

Small Fish
May 21, 2009
try water change. water change helps in removing some of the wastes that causes the infections. what other fishes do you have? goldfish can handle a range of temperatures. you can check THIS for other inputs.

ValRasbora

Superstar Fish
May 2, 2009
Atlantic Canada
Be careful not to use dyed "medicine" for fish- I made this mistake and regretted it- it dyed the sealer on my tank blue forevermore!
Adding aquarium salt is good- Even if your fish aren't sick because in the wild fish naturally have deposits of salt in their water. Well, goldfish are coldwater fish, so try to keep the heat somewhat low, I guess.

Last edited:

Anja

New Fish
May 25, 2009
Texas
The ich meds I used turned the watere blue and my orange Gouramis a pale, sickly looking gray in front! I keep thinking I'm going to loose them but they keep going, thank goodness! As for water change, done that, more then ones, I use the "vacumm" and thenadd more water plus all the stuff needed! I had put a glass in the tank with a tsp or 2 of salt and the guppies, barbs, and even the koi went in it but then I told not to do that so I took it out! I do however add salt when I change water! Thanks for all your help!!!!! You've been great!!!!

MissFishy

Superstar Fish
Aug 10, 2006
Michigan