What type goldfish for my setup?

May 31, 2006
Hi!!! I just got a 29 gallon tank with a hang on back power filter and an undergravel filter. I've got about 2 inches of substrate and lots of hiding places and plants (plastic though). Anyways, the question is, what type and how many goldfish can I keep in my tank? I don't want to use a heater and my room stays at about 65 degrees constantly cause of the a/c, so that's why I decided on goldfish (that and some of them are neat looking). I've tried to do a little research beforehand, since I'm new to aquariums, and right now I have no fish in my tank, since it was just set up tonight. Thanks for any suggestions !!!

ssFishHead

p.s. Also some gravel got underneath the plates when I installed the undergravel filter. Is that going to be a problem?

FroggyFox

Forum Manager
May 16, 2003
Colorado
The gravel underneath the plates probably will be ok as long as there's not much. You'll find that goldies are really messy...so you're going to need to do a lot of water changes and a lot of gravel vacs.

First thing you should read up on is in the stickies at the top of the beginner forum about how to cycle your tank. You dont want to get fish quite yet.

When you're at a point to get fish...I think you could probably get...two or three goldies in that tank, I'd probably stick with two.

May 31, 2006
Thanks for the info. Also what kind of goldfish? I like the ryukins for sale at petsmart. Will 3 of those be ok? Or maybe two and an algae eater/scavenger of some sort. Are there any coldwater bottomfeeders that can go in there? And the girl at the store said that aquarium salt is good for all breeds of fish, even freshwater. How is that if they're freshwater fish?

I don't really know about cold water bottom feeders because I don't have cold water fish. Maybe an apple snail? I never really liked snails until I got mine and now I love to sit and watch them.