What will i need for my tank?

Apr 13, 2011
hey people, i am here to ask about the equiptment i will be needing for my fish tank.

What is the best filter for a 30 gallon fishtank?
What is a good heater for the fish tank cause i wish to have oto's and other tropical fish?

Im new to this, so please make some suggestions on what i will need. I have a filter but i dont know if it is capable of filtering a 30g tank.

thanks

achase

Large Fish
Feb 1, 2010
British Columbia, Canada
So you are getting/have a 30 gallon tank? Have you cycled tanks before? If not, in my signature there is a link to a how to guide.
If you are wanting to establish a healthy/safe aquarium for tropical fish you will need to have a properly cycled tank. Otos are quite sensitive about cycling from what I hear.

Personally I like Power Filters and the brand I use on my tanks are Aqueon QuietFlow's.
I find they work well and are a reasonable price. Although there are lots of other good brands to choice from.

There are tons of different brands for heaters and basically it's your choice. I would recommend a submersible heater(s). For a 30 gallon tank I think you would 150 watts. So you could achieve that buy purchasing a 150 watt heater or adding multiple heaters.
Heaters come in a variety of wattage (25, 50 74, 100, 150, 250). Someone correct me if I'm wrong!

What type of filter do you currently have? I usually go for over filtration rather than under filtration.

Last edited:
Apr 21, 2011
According to my advice You have the essential equipments for you aquarium,35 liter tank is not big enough, though it is enough for the guppies. Almost all catfish grow more than 12''. And also they will eat all your fries before it starts swimming. So keep away from Catfish.
Another thing you can add is Neon tetras along with your fish .

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA