Which aquarium?

Finney

Small Fish
Jun 17, 2005
Can anyone help me decide which of the following 20 gallon aquariums would be the best to buy? I’m a beginner and want to get something that will keep my fish happy and healthy and that will stand up to being moved every now and then (I’m a student)!

Marineland 20 gallon kit with hood, light, heater, filter (not sure what model); or Waterhome 20 gallon with Aquaclear 150 filter, Elite Radiant heater (not submersible), hood, light etc; or an Angel brand 20 gallon with Cascade 150 filter, submersible heater, hood, light etc. They're all about the same price, but I'm not sure which filter is better.

Are there any advantages or disadvantages to getting a 20 gallon long aquarium (30” X 12” X 12”) rather than a normal 20 gallon (24” X 12” X 16”)? Is one better for viewing the fish?

Is it best to get a special purpose-built aquarium stand, or will a sturdy “non-aquarium” cabinet be ok?

Thanks for any advice!

Iggy

Superstar Fish
Jun 25, 2003
Leduc, AB, Canada
Visit site
Hi Finney & Welcome to the tank!

I am not familiar with all those brands, so I will only make a few comments:

1. Marineland is a pretty good brand, never heard of waterhome or angel.
2. I like AquaClear filters, but Cascades are also well respected.
3. Submersible heaters give you more options down the road. I would suggest a 150w heater for a 20gal.

a) Long tanks give you more surface area but take-up more wall space. More surface area gives you better oxygene to water ratios.
b) Taller tanks give you the water volume without taking up to much room, and are better for taller fish varieties.

i) Specially-built fish stands give you a quick, no-work solution but give you limited color and design options.
ii) Home-made stands need to be able to support about 10 pounds per gallon, so sturdy in you case is strong enough for a 200 lb man to stand on-top.