wild caught tropical fish!

Sep 19, 2009
I recently caught a cowfish, a spotfin butterflyfish, and a lookdown jack fish in a seine net at work and figured I would try to keep them in an aquarium rather than throw them back and let them die from the cold. However, I am rather new at the aquarium hobby and am having trouble getting my fish to eat food because of them being wild caught. Does anyone have any suggestions or have done this before? Thanks!

KahluaZzZ

Superstar Fish
Jun 12, 2004
Montreal, Quebec
Visit site
Well if you got a cowfish and you're a newbie, you might be in trouble since pretty much all those are poisonous when stressed, and stress can be easily achieved when you don't have infos on the specie. Bad water params, bad compatibility, parasites, diseases etc means you can gamble all your other livestock.They also need a lot of space. Your spotfin isn't easy either, like all the chaetodontidae family. Your lookdown might need a huge tank volume ( 150+G when adult ).
What is your tank setup ? Need some info there...new at the aquarium hobby means..new in SW or FW too ?

Sep 19, 2009
Thanks for the info...I am not new to freshwater and technically I am not new to saltwater either considering I am a practicing marine biologist and have maintained saltwater aquaria for more than two years for multiple species of shark and skate. I am new to personally keeping a small saltwater tropical aquarium outside of a laboratory setting. Not sure if that helps for info.

I know a bit about each species and am aware of the poisons that the cowfish secretes when stressed and when they die and am trying to minimize stress levels at the moment. I have bought a water conditioner that is supposed to minimize stress for new fish and transported fish by calming them and helping with the protective slime coat and such. That seemed to help a tad...