Power concern

My sister is a Marine Biologist and would love to setup a SW tank. She lives in Florida and is concerned about fish survival if the power goes out. With the exception of hurricanes this isn't a problem. But here is the track record with power outage so far:
Irene: less than one day,
Katrina: 3 days,
Wilma: almost a week

I guess my question is how do you protect against power outages, and what steps do you take when you do loose it?
I have plenty of experience with FW, but zero with salt so any advice that I could give her would be appreciated.

Thanks
Jonathan

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
Generators and Batteries is pretty much it. You can use an inverter hooked up to a deep cycle batter to run a tank for a while. The key in a power outage is oxygenation and water movement (the lighting is of minor concern) so with diligence things can survive for a while.

TRe

Elite Fish
Feb 20, 2005
ft. lauderdale
when huricane wilma hit i was with out power for 2 weeks!! i survive with battery powered pumps (6 of them!!) but that was before i went reef so it was basically just keeping the fish alive...now that i have corals i would like to get a generator to keep the lights on when power goes out ;)

CoolWaters

Superstar Fish
Dec 10, 2006
Milpitas
lol using a bucket to move water ill be torture...i would just get the most efficient pump i can fine with a small back up power supply.

costco sells a 240 watt solar Solar Back-up Power supply.
solar panels for day and battery for night.

speaking of solar power supplies...
i found this
DealExtreme: $22.35 1000mAh 5.5V Solar Powered Self-Recharging Li-Ion Battery
never miss a call again.

Lorna

Elite Fish
Mar 3, 2005
NE Indiana