Stocking Question and Help

Jul 16, 2007
Hey guys, I am new to being a fish keeper and wanted to ask two things: (1) if anyone could tell me how well stocked my 10 gallon tank is, and (2) help on an issue...

(1) My 10 gallon tank consists of (I do not know how to sex the fish, so if you need that info, help on how to would be great):
- 3 red wags
- 2 sunset wags
- 1 albino cory
- 1 white balloon belly molly
- 1 creamcicle molly
- 1 blue-barred barb (barbus barilioides)

I also have a couple plastic plants, a plastic log that the cory often sleeps in, and a live vine-like plant.

I got the blue-barred barb b/c the store employee said they are ok with community fish, it seems active, but so far pretty much keeps to itself.

If anyone has any good book ideas too, I would appreciate it. I would like to get more fish, so open to suggestions, but don't want a crowded tank.

(2) Issue: My creamcicle molly and white balloon belly are not getting along. It looks like the balloon belly is trying to nip at the creamcicle's tail fin, but, every now and then, the creamcicle fights back, but usually just swims away. Is this normal? Any help?

Thanks a lot!!!

1st, I would say your tank is over stocked.
2nd, I believe that being the tank over stocked, it has triggered aggression.
3rd, Cories like to be in groups of 3 or more.
4th, I believe a 10 gallon is too small for barbs, as most of them like to be in groups, and are too active for a 10g.
5th, Do you know the male to female ration on the 'wags' AKA platies? As it should be 1m/2f.
6th, I believe the live plant you have is a type of vallis.

I have a few questions,
How long has the tank been set up?
What filter do you have?
What are you parameters (ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate)?

I'm sorry if it seemed like I was being harsh, but just trying to help.

Jul 13, 2007