need sump advice

alex8111

Medium Fish
Aug 31, 2007
I have a 80 gallon saltwater tank which is currently going thru the nitrogen cycle. Everything is going great so far.

As I’m educating myself about this hobby, I came across sump. I know it is a very important element to keeping a healthy reef tank which I want to do.

However, I have no real knowledge on how to setup a small sump. I cant find any steps to go about setting something up when I search the net – everything seems a bit complicated.

have the following questions:

Since my tank is already running, is it too late to setup a sump? Do I need to empty the tank to add the sump? The reason I ask is because I notice that a hole needs to be drilled in the main tank.

What is the simplest way to setup a sump without drilling a hole in the main tank?

I have a huge fear of running pumps because I feel that a flood is inevitable. How can two pumps work perfectly together. The smallest problem could result in a flood right? So I assume that running pumps to push the water up from the sump and one to push it down to the sump is not an option at all.

What options do I have? I don’t want anything fancy. Im just looking for the easiest (cheapest if possible) way to get water from the sump to the main tank (and vice versa) without flooding.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

1979camaro

Ultimate Fish
Oct 22, 2002
San Ramon, CA
You need a HOB Overflow Box. You don't need to drill the tank to use one of these devices. It will allow water to drain from the display tank without a pump. You then run a pump in the sump to return water to the display tank. This means you do not have to run two pumps which, as you noted, will result in an overflow.

alex8111

Medium Fish
Aug 31, 2007
Thanks for all the responses.

I got an overflow box. The U tube kind. It seems to be working perfectly but I do see a big bubble in the tube. How do I get that bubble out?