Switching to brackish water

ryanm19

Medium Fish
Feb 6, 2008
Lawrence, KS
ok, hey im pretty new to this but right now i have a 20 gallon freshwater tank with some cleaning fish in it and 1 molly. ive been wanting to switch to a brackish tank and i just want to know what steps i should do to do this. im guessing ill have to get rid of my fish in the tank now so they dont die. i am also thinking about getting some figure 8 puffers after the conversion to brackish water is complete. So if anyone has anything that would help me in switching to brackish water i would appreciate it.

thanks for the help

f8fan

MFT Staff
Nov 19, 2004
Bangor, Maine
Welcome to MFT :)

I'd check out the Brackish section, namely this article:http://www.myfishtank.net/forum/brackish-discussion/35372-brackish-tanks-guide.html

You need to slowly do the conversion. Go purchase some marine salt and a hydrometer (an instrument that measures salinity) and slowly raise your salinity .002 per couple weeks or so. The reason you need to do it so slowly is so that your beneficial bacteria can convert itself from freshwater to marine.

Make sure to thoroughly mix the salt in the replacement water (don't dump straight salt in the tank :p).

Also - here's another article about brackish tanks that I really like:http://badmanstropicalfish.com/brackish/brackish.html

Good luck! Feel free to PM me or post questions about brackish tanks in the brackish forum...I always love to see another brackish tank keeper around here :)

Orion

Ultimate Fish
Feb 10, 2003
Kentucky
www.thefishcave.net
That article probably says it, but I'll say it too. Adding Freshwater Aquarium Salt to a freshwater tank will not make it brackish. Only marine salt makes a brackish tank. Easy to get confused, but makes all the difference. Good luck!

ryanm19

Medium Fish
Feb 6, 2008
Lawrence, KS