ideas/opinions needed!!!!

Mar 12, 2008
Ok I have 2 5-gallon tanks. One is rectangular with fish in it and the other is a hexagon I just got, not filling it till the summer.

I need suggestions, ideas, opinions of what to do with the two tanks. I'm a college student, so these fish will go with me to college to keep me company, so I really want to make the best out of these 2 tanks.

The rectangle one has 2 small corycats, 1 dwarf platy, 3 male fancy guppies, and 2 bably guppies with pretty spots I saved from the feeder tank.

The rule of thumb I have always been told is: clean the water/gravel 1/week, and as long as it doesnt look crowded, its fine. I've had the rectangle tank for 3 months now and not even a speck of algae, no dead fish, and they are all happy and healthy.

So the possible tank set up I had in mind were:
Hexagon tank:
- 3 guppies
- 1 dwarf platy
- shrimps
- 3 oto cats (?)

Rectangle Tank:
- 3 female bettas
- shrimps
- 3 (4?) khuli loaches OR 3 (4?) oto cats

And of couse plants - at least 3 - and decor for each tank.

I've thought about how the loaches need room to move, and the rectangle tank has a lot of ground area....132 square inches to be exact...

I appreciate any thoughts on the matter. Thanks :)

ishar

MFT Staff
Jul 27, 2007
Hamilton, ON.
Well I think your hex plans sound good enough, but your rect. plans are off kilter. Those khuli loaches are going to need a lot more room I believe. Stick with the otos for that tank and I think it is all pretty good.

Mar 12, 2008
well thank you ishar :) that is the first positive reply I've had to my plans in all the forums I've asked on (2 others besides here) lmao

I'm afraid 3 oto cats might get crowded in the small ground space of the hexagon tank....are there any other types of cleaning fish that are quite small?