New tank: moving stuff around?

So this whole $1 per gallon at Petco is making me want to pursue that 55g...:) I'm heading over to Pets Inc. in like half an hour to check out their used stuff (tanks and stands and setups.)

If I do get a 55g or whatever other size they have, I'm gonna need to get rid of my current tanks.

My plan is as follows:

-Get rid of the swordtails (Petco)
-Mega clean the 6.6g
-Re-cycle the 6.6g with filter cartridge from before and plants and castle from 20g (get new gravel for it)
-Move cories and otos into 6.6g
-Cycle 55g with gravel from empty 20g and castle from 5g (need to get extra gravel as well)
-Move cories into 55g
-Move puffer into 6.6g with otos

Does that look ok? My question is the cycling, because I've never done it properly before...do I need to add some Biospira? Or does that just speed it up? How long would it take without Biospira?

I appreciate all the input I can get!!! :D Thanks!

Sep 11, 2007
www.forrestcook.com
I cycled with fish and bio spira from scratch (no old filters or anything) and had a finished cycle within a week. and my cycle was -very- minor. Just make sure the place you buy it from keeps it refrigerated.

I think that if your current filter is big enough for the 55g, and if you're using all that old gravel, you shouldn't really have much of one to begin with... I mean all you're actually -changing- in the new tank is adding new gravel and more water. That wouldn't start your cycle over in your small tank, so why would it in the big tank?

Jun 21, 2008