Inital setup of 75 gal freshwater

LDSP

New Fish
Aug 25, 2008
Found MFT while out searching for pictures and info on setting up my tank so here I am. I am a TOTAL newbie so I will probably ask plenty of stupid questions over time:) I have a 75 gal tank with a stand and a Fluval 405 filter/pump that is sitting here waiting for gravel tomorrow. Wife wants lots of live green plants with small schools of various fish. So... after installing the gravel and filling with water, what are my next steps to getting the system up and running? Can I choose and install the plants I want right after filling the tank OR does the tank need to be up and running for a while first? What do I need to do to get the tank to cycle and what kind of testing supplies will I need? Also what kind of currents can a freshwater tank stand? Have lots of powerheads, some with nozzels that go back and forth. How many should be installed? Also I have one air pump with two air stones, is that enough? Last question for tonight..I promise... Should I use T5 bulbs in the canopy I am getting ready to build? Is there a site which shows how I should place the ballasts and is it safe to place the ballast in the canopy? Any certain liner I need to install for optimum refltion of the light?

Thsnkd
Leo

d3sc3n7

Superstar Fish
Nov 21, 2007
Ft. Campbell, Ky
www.d3sc3n7.com
Well, seems like you have some idea of what your doing.

Live plants will love being part of the cycle. I suggest the API Master test kit...its a drop kit, like for testing your pool. (not that I've ever had a pool you dont have to blow up first) The currents your tank can handle depends on the plants and the fish, not really the tank itself. The air stones are more for looks than anything, as long as you have some disruption on the surface of the tank...IE a filter, or a powerhead that will aerate your tank for you.

If you search the DIY section, you'll find all your lighting info