Water source

Johnny-J5

Small Fish
Aug 26, 2008
Connecticut
Complete Newb question:

Where do you guys get your non-chlorinated water from? I live in a city where they chlorinate the tap water.

Do i have to go buy filtered water? Im planning on starting a 40 gallon tank, do i really need to get 8 5gallon poland spring water containers?

Also a question about water changes. How do you change water without upsetting the balence of ammonia eating bacteria? I assume when you remove a certain amount of water (i guess enough to balence out the nitrate levels), part of the bacteria colonies goes down the drain with it. Do i need to constantly do a waterless cycle (in a seperate tank) in order to maintain that balence of nh4->no2- bacteria and no2- -> no3- bacteria??

Thanks in advance

Good that you asked because chlorinated water can cause some serious problems!!
There are a lot of products that you can add to your tap water to dechlorinate it. Right now I'm using StressCoat from API. But there's plenty of others; I think the one I had before was AquaSafe. You can also use RO water (reverse osmosis). I use a combination of both dechlorinated tap and RO water.

As for the water changes, just don't scrub off all the walls and decor/plants with chlorinated water. As long as you keep those submerged most of the time, except the glass walls of course cuz you can't, you'll be fine.

iapetus

Large Fish
Jan 15, 2008
34:09:39N, 118:08:19W
Also a question about water changes. How do you change water without upsetting the balence of ammonia eating bacteria? I assume when you remove a certain amount of water (i guess enough to balence out the nitrate levels), part of the bacteria colonies goes down the drain with it. Do i need to constantly do a waterless cycle (in a seperate tank) in order to maintain that balence of nh4->no2- bacteria and no2- -> no3- bacteria??