Do you grieve lost fish?

h2oh

Small Fish
Sep 7, 2008
Seattle, WA
I'm new to the hobby, and only have one fish (building it up gradually as I started with a semi-aggressive). I've been doing tons of research on websites and forums alike, and what I've noticed is that the loss of a fish or two (or MORE) doesn't seem to phase most people.

Does this come with experience in the hobby and losing fish after fish trying to experiment, or am I silly to think of how devastated I would be if my little guy went belly up? Because honestly, I fail to see how a person could put so much money and care and monitoring into an animal and then not blink an eye when it died.

jo3olous

Large Fish
Aug 6, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
it depends. If the fish is expensive, then hell yea! lol ~ also the history and relationship you build with your fish. If you had a fish for years then it dies, that's pretty sad. If you get a fish and it dies in a week/month, then it's like oh well gotta replace him and figure out what went wrong. It's been about 2 months for me and I'm attached to mine. They all come out of hiding and swim up whenever I approach the tank (must think its feeding time). And the loach/Red tail like showing off when other people come into my room. So I kind of feel like I have a connection with them, you know?

AlyKat

Large Fish
Aug 3, 2007
New York
the history and relationship you build with your fish. If you had a fish for years then it dies, that's pretty sad. If you get a fish and it dies in a week/month, then it's like oh well gotta replace him and figure out what went wrong.
I totally agree with this...when I lost Sharkey and Lobster I was REALLY sad...but like all these cardinal tetras I've lost this week, yeah, I'm kinda bummed, but I'm not gonna plan funerals or anything...

Just lost my betta last week after almost 7 years...I was pretty sad that day too... :(