Help!! Beat up Platies

sphex

Small Fish
Dec 6, 2008
(****I put a summary at the bottom, if you don't have time to read the whole post!****)

Hello everyone- I hope I can get some good advice here- my heart is racing and I'm in a bit of a panic mode. This is long, for which I apologize, but I want to get all the relevant info in, so hopefully someone can help me!

I'm new to this whole fishkeeping thing, but I'm diligent, and have done tons of online research... but I've been unable to find information on how to deal with this.

I have a 5 gallon planted tank, with an aquaclear mini filter. It's been cycled for 3 weeks (fishless cycling method) and since it's been cycled I've added 5 dwarf sunset platies. (3, and then two weeks later when i saw that the levels were all good and holding, I added two more- all 5 are female). Water changes (I use Prime and a bit of salt) are once or twice a week- no more than 6 days between them, usually just 4. Levels have consistently been ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrAte generally 5 or 10, once 15. (I measure almost every day, and before and after every water change- hey, I'm still new, and i'm obsessive.)

So on Monday I noticed one of the fish was flashing a bit against a plant, so I did a 2 gal water change (the previous had been 3 gal on Thursday) and was keeping a close eye on them. I thought she maybe had gill flukes.

I had the intake end of the filter covered with a stocking b/c I bought it used and it didn't have the extension. The stocking got really gunked up, and the filter was straining, and the fish all looked good, and I read that healthy fish won't get sucked up by a filter... so I took it off, and on Tuesday on my way home from work bought some Jungle Parasite clear to treat the gill flukes.