New Here

Jan 13, 2009
Elberta, Al
Hi guys. I found this site through a google search and so far it is the most active fresh water forum I've seen, so I've been lurking a bit.

I'm kinda new to aquariums and definately new to planted aquariums (as you can tell by the blue substrate in my fts).

At any rate, Here's my tank and just a heads up, I'll be replacing the oscar, cichlid, and pacu soon as they are a bit detrimental to my plants. I knew the small cichlid would be a bit of a problem but DANG!! This guy tears my plants to shreds lol.

Currently using a tablet type CO2 set up for the tank and dosing nutrients once a week, all parameters for the water look good atm.

Found a link to a very informative how to on building a yeast co2 system so I might be doing that if the tablets prove insuffecient for my needs. Anyway, the FTS.

emmanuelchavez

Superstar Fish
Feb 22, 2008
Thanks for the welcomes, the only thing that is bugging me though is 200+ for a pressurised system. That would be tough to talk the wife into lol
Oh, but the growth would be so much more amazing! I've done DIY CO2, tablet CO2, and pressurized. Pressurized is the greatest!!! Make sure you read up very well on planted aquariums and get the 'good' stuff from the beginning, it'll save you tons of money... take it from me, who has spent tons more money upgrading little by little than just getting the the stuff from the get-go.

Jan 13, 2009
Elberta, Al
Thanks folks, I read the link about co2 again and hopefully if I buy it piecemeal then I might eventually be able to upgrade it.

Has anyone done the home made setup with the 2 liter soda bottles yet? If so, how did that work for you?

Jan 13, 2009
Elberta, Al
Oh, wish me luck, I'm going down to the river later today to see if I can find some rocks and driftwood for my tank. I read about boiling and letting it soak for a week or so. I think I read it here somewhere but not sure, it might be on another forum I visit :)

Should I boil the rock?