mistakened 45 gallon for 30

Jan 14, 2009
I made a terrible mistake in assuming the size of my tank. Id had picked up a tank that she said was 30 gallons. After purchasing all necessary items and checking the measurements (36x12x24), I realized the tank was 45 gallons.

Good thing was that I purchased a aquaclear 50, so hopefully it should be good enough for this 45 gallon tank. Any thoughts?

The 150 watt heater will now have to be upgraded to a 20 watt heater. I have the heater set to 85, but temp remains around 78. Hopefully, the LFS will let me exchange without receipt.

At least I'll have more room for stocking. I was originally going to do a school of tetras, cories, shrimp, and a center piece.

Now that I have extra room, any suggestions on stocking?

I was going for a peaceful tank, but now im really considering a semi aggressive, aggressive tank with cichlids even though Im a beginner.

Last edited:
Dec 27, 2008
I made a terrible mistake in assuming the size of my tank. Id had picked up a tank that she said was 30 gallons. After purchasing all necessary items and checking the measurements (36x12x24), I realized the tank was 45 gallons.

Good thing was that I purchased a aquaclear 50, so hopefully it should be good enough for this 45 gallon tank. Any thoughts?

The 150 watt heater will now have to be upgraded to a 20 watt heater. I have the heater set to 85, but temp remains around 78. Hopefully, the LFS will let me exchange without receipt.

At least I'll have more room for stocking. I was originally going to do a school of tetras, cories, shrimp, and a center piece.

Now that I have extra room, any suggestions on stocking?

I was going for a peaceful tank, but now im really considering a semi aggressive, aggressive tank with cichlids even though Im a beginner.
More room! More choices!

Jan 14, 2009
yup, more room... more choices

It seems everywhere I read, a 50 gallon tank is recommended for cichlids and that makes me just under the bare min.