New Mom to Bucktooth Tetras

Mar 12, 2009
I'm new to the fish world so forgive my ignorance....

I've just recently (one week ago) got 5 bucktooth tetras. All has been fine... they've been eating really well... REALLY well... they're pigs actually. :) No issues although one of them seems to be a bully. We added a bristle-nosed catfish and weren't sure if it would end up being an expensive dinner for the tetras but they don't bother it at all. Today I was watching them and noticed that 4 of them were hiding behind rocks/plants. I fed them and they all came out and attacked the flakes. Once the food was gone, the bully seemed to chase the other 4 back into hiding (up until today, they weren't hiding... the bully would chase a bit but they were all swimming together). I also noticed that the colors of the bully are bright/vidid and the other 4 are quite dull. The black mark on the tail of the 4 is gone and the black mark on their body is dull... one of the fish has no black markings at all anymore. They were all equally bright/vivid when we got them.

We've only been feeding them flakes up to now (the pet store advised us to wait about 2 weeks before introducing live food). Any ideas as to why the 4 fish are now hiding and their color is disappearing??

Thanks!! DT

jo3olous

Large Fish
Aug 6, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
I'm new to the fish world so forgive my ignorance....