Betta tank question

Mar 24, 2009
I’m a newbie with a VT Betta (named Bob) whom I just love to pieces! He’s in a 5 gal, Plexiglas tank with artificial plants and a fake log he can swim through and he seems very happy! He dances around his tank when it’s feeding time and snuggles up to my hand when I put it against the tank. He even built a bubble nest the other day!! I have an in-tank “Whisper” power filter (came with the tank), which I set to a low-flow output because I read that Bettas like still water. But I’m concerned that it isn’t filtering enough. His bubble nest is starting to break-up and now it looks a little slimy on the surface of his water! Should I bump-up the flow on his filter?

Also, I don’t have a heater in his tank because I keep my place pretty warm and, so far, his water has been maintaining a temp between 76 – 78 degrees. But soon, my husband will be cranking up the air conditioning, so I picked up a small heater. It say’s it’s for tanks between 2 – 15 gallons, no thermostat (constant 78 degrees) and is 50 watts. I read (on Miss Fishy's website) a good rule of thumb for heaters is 5 watts per 1 gallon. So you can anticipate my question…is 50 watts to powerful for a 5 gallon, Plexiglas tank?
Thanks in advance for your help

jo3olous

Large Fish
Aug 6, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
you should be okay as long as the heater is kept to a low setting, and I would get a thermometer for the tank so you can see the temp constantly. does the heater have a timer or anything? Also did you cycle the tank before putting the betta in it? If not you might want to check out miss fishys guide for cycling too.

Good luck and welcome to mft!

Mar 24, 2009