neons behaving badly ?

Apr 15, 2009
Hi all and thanks in advance for any advice or comments. I'm new to tropicals but have done some research to try and avoid any really stupid errors ! I have a 64l tank which I cycled with tap safe and filter start. Test readings were all good so I began stocking. A few fish each week along with more tests and small water changes. first off 6 small guppies 'bumble bees', a week later 6 neon tetras and finally 6 'sunset' platys. At this point all is well test readings good and all appearantly getting along.
I share all of the above just to set the scene a little. So then I notice one of the platies seems to have a problem with his dorsal fin and a fin on one side, I can't be certain he didn't arrive like that but I'm pretty sure. After several days of paying lots of attention to the tank I found the cause last night, a neon ! I was under the impression they were nice friendly fish ? So I've removed the injured platy into a quarantine tank and kept a close eye on the neons. They appear to be being very aggressive towards eachother. So is this natural neon behaviour or have I done something to cause it ? Am I misunderstanding the neones ? What can I do about them ? Will the poor platy recover ? Thanks for reading all advice, comment gratefully received.

Thanks

Chris

Matt Nace

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Pennsylvania
I actually have 6 neons in my 10 gallon and they fight among each other. Mine swim togther than fight among each other. I think it is just how they are.

You sure the platy is hurt from the neons...what problem is he having with his fins?

Apr 15, 2009
Thanks for the swift reply,

Both fins are smaller than they should be and have ragged edges. Last night I watched one of the neons repeatedly going for the dorsal fin and it certainly looked like he was nipping it.

Chris

jo3olous

Large Fish
Aug 6, 2008
Philadelphia, PA