Setting up 55 g tank

May 3, 2009
Hi all,
I'm new to the aquarium hobby but I've been doing a lot of reading here and I've started to buy what I need. I still have a few lingering questions which I hope aren't too newbie to ask.
1.) I want to do fish-less cycling and I've been trying to buy ammonia to do that. However most household ammonia seems to have addons (at least at the Wal-Mart I went to). What should I be looking for exactly?
2.) As a follow up, how much ammonia should I be adding into the tank to get 5ppm?
3.) I'm looking into plants and I was wondering if Eco-Complete substrate is a good way to go for that
4.) I guess I have two 24 inch light fixtures which came with 1 15 watt bulb for each. If I buy 2 50 watts and 2 30 watts would that be enough?
5.) As far as cleaning goes, I understand water changes but whats the deal with the substrate?
Thanks for your time and for your help.

Jun 21, 2008
Welcome to the tank texas. (Your username will probably be abbreviated in posts, just so that you know, and I'm just picking the best part.) Ha. I'll see what I can help with.
1. You're right, you want ammonia that's just pure 100% ammonia, with no surfectants (sp?). Some I think have found it at Ace Hardware. If I recall, when you shake it is shouldn't foam if it's the right stuff.
2. Not sure, you basically just start with some ammount and keep testing until it gets to where you want it. Maybe a capful?
3. I just bought some eco-complete for my tank. I haven't put it in yet, but from what I've read it seems to be as good as anything, and one of the better ones if you're willing to spend a bit of money. I found the best deal by far at Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate | Pet Solutions, and their shipping is the best for the poundage, if it hasn't changed. I got 3 bags for my 55 gallon. Like I said, I haven't put it in yet, so not sure about the depth, but I figure that's a good ballpark.