55gal: questions about fish compatibility

Gabe988

Small Fish
Apr 15, 2009
Hi everyone,

I've recently purchased a 55gal tank with live plants. I know there are already a lot of threads like the one I just started, but unlike ppl in other threads, I already researched fish. I made a list of what kind of fish I want to get, so I just need a few opinions/ suggestions about fish compatibilty from you guys.

here's my list:

I have : 7 zebra danios

I want to get:

5-7 tiger barbs,

5-7 black phantom tetras,

9-11 neon tetras

2 gold/ blue rams

and a few plecos, corys and other algae eaters, and maybe a clown or yoyo loach.

would those fish be compatible with each other? I read that the rams are too small to harm other tank mates. thank you for your help!

Gabe

Last edited:

ValRasbora

Superstar Fish
May 2, 2009
Atlantic Canada
It sounds nice! You could check out "Anything to go with tetras?" just for suggestions. I think it would work, but I'm no ram expert. The tetras and the barbs should work, though. You could go for a bottom feeder\algae eater to reduce the tank maintenance, but they aren't really necessary, though!!

misterking

Superstar Fish
Aug 12, 2008
Manchester, UK
www.facebook.com
It would be nice, but for a bigger tank. Best bet is to try and stick to "1 inch of fully grown fish per gallon" for small, slim bodied fish like many you listed above. You could be pushing your stocking a bit..

Also, what kind of plecos? I wouldn't go for anything that gets above 6 inches for a 55 gallon. So things like bristlenose plecs, clown plecs, rubbernose plecs etc. Clown loaches are also pretty big, reaching a foot in the wild (6 inches is more common in captivity) and like to be in shoals. Yoyo loaches are smaller but also like to be in a group.

The compatibility of the fish IMO is fine, just could get a bit overstocked if you stick to that list.

Nov 19, 2008
Des Moines, Iowa