Color of Poop

Nemo'sMom

Small Fish
Oct 27, 2009
So, I am new to this game and have read a couple things about determining potential digestive problems by the color of the fish's poop. I have 3 gf atm and they all seem fine. Just curious if anyone has any info on this so I can have a heads up if something goes wrong. I currently feed flakes 75% of the time with occasional brine shrimp, blood worms, peas etc. Just trying to amass as much information as possible :)

JRB__

Large Fish
Oct 24, 2009
Australia
Can't give you any info regarding the color of fish poo and its meanings, but I just wanted to say, Its great you want to make sure your fish are all good and well but don't overthink things. Especially with gf. Your feeding them a nice, well balanced diet and so there for you should not have to worry to much about intestinal disease/problems.

Nemo'sMom

Small Fish
Oct 27, 2009
Thanks for the encouragement :) It gets a bit confusing at times with all the information available out there ... I will keep it simple and address the problems if/when they arrive. And in the mean time, enjoy the fish!

JRB__

Large Fish
Oct 24, 2009
Australia
... I will keep it simple and address the problems if/when they arrive. And in the mean time, enjoy the fish!
IMO - Prevention is better than a cure and your doing all you can as far as their diet is concerned so make sure you test the water for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate & pH once a week and keep up with the water changes and I can't think of why your fish shouldn't thrive.
Don't forget to enjoy your fish :)
Good luck!

Nemo'sMom

Small Fish
Oct 27, 2009