help, goldfish dying for no reason

Nov 24, 2009
I've been keeping fish (with mixed success) for last ~5 years in a 180 l (~ 50 gallon) tank. Last year my three goldfish perished in a single day.. I changed the water and kept the tank running for over a year with no fish. I was changing water every now and then and maintained the filter.

Last week I repopulated th tank. pH was 6.8, buffered at 7, no nitrate, no ammonia. I have a full testing kit, but also did a water check in a pet shop - water was perfect. My 5 new goldfish lasted a week. They were earing well but then developed some strange deposits in their tails. Looked like air bubbles stuck in the fins. I treated them with treatment solution from a pet shop (smells of eucaliptus oil), the deposits were gone but the fish was dying one by one over the period of 2 days. That was despite me isolating each one in a separate hospital tank.

What could go wrong? I have not changed all the water and there may have been some old fish droppings in the gravel. Could it still be active in a year? need your help.

Fishstella.

Julez

Medium Fish
Nov 17, 2009
Pensylvania...
I've been keeping fish (with mixed success) for last ~5 years in a 180 l (~ 50 gallon) tank. Last year my three goldfish perished in a single day.. I changed the water and kept the tank running for over a year with no fish. I was changing water every now and then and maintained the filter.

Last week I repopulated th tank. pH was 6.8, buffered at 7, no nitrate, no ammonia. I have a full testing kit, but also did a water check in a pet shop - water was perfect. My 5 new goldfish lasted a week. They were earing well but then developed some strange deposits in their tails. Looked like air bubbles stuck in the fins. I treated them with treatment solution from a pet shop (smells of eucaliptus oil), the deposits were gone but the fish was dying one by one over the period of 2 days. That was despite me isolating each one in a separate hospital tank.