Info on Black Ghost Knife fish

cassaroo

Small Fish
Dec 1, 2009
I'm new to the fish keeping hobby (HELLO ^_^) & i have a questions.....

My bf & I just got a Black Ghost Knife fish (more so him)
We are trying to get as much info as we can on them so we can be sure to place it with the right tank mates.
So far we have read/heard they are rather delicate but can be aggressive toward smaller fish, However, we also heard one as small as 3 inches can kill a smaller Cichlid. What we know for sure is that it has killed our Cherry Barb.

We were wondering what experiences anyone else has had & if you have any advice on what we should watch for.

Thanks ^_^

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
firstly make sure its in a BIG tank. more than 50 gal.
Next make sure there are a lot of carves inside the tank that it can fit in, to hide and feel at home.

JRB__

Large Fish
Oct 24, 2009
Australia
Here's what I know of BGK's (black ghost knife)

They are as good as blind so they tend to fly around the tank bashing into things (especially when feeding)

Only keep 1 BGK per tank, they do not appreciate their own kind

Keep in a very large tank... they reach sizes of 12" plus

Provide a secure, fairly snug cave or creves as a resting place. PVC pipe is most commonly used for this, doesn't look the nicest but works perfectly.

Their diet must include regular servings of blood worms. (VERY IMPORTANT!)

Aquarium needs a secure lid or you may find him dead, dried up on the floor one morning.

BGK's are nocturnal and therefore any small fish that sleeps on the bottom at night (guppies, neons etc) is likely to be attacked and or eaten.

I have found that this is one of those fish, where individuals can just be straight up A holes. I've seen them bully to death guppies to fully grown cichlids. Yet I've seen others live happily amongst a community tank.