hello everyone

ben401

Small Fish
Dec 7, 2009
Hello... I'm Ben and I live in Providence RI... I am new to the hobby with the exception of a 10 gallon that I had when I was a kid. My son won a goldfish at his church fair about a year and a half ago. The fish was alive 3 months later so we upgraded from a bowl to a 10g tank. My son wants more fish, and has recently acquired another 10g tank at a yard sale. I am wondering what our options are for this tank. My son would like to go to tropical fish, but the reading I have been doing suggests we would need a larger tank to keep more than a single fish. and that keeping a single tropical fish may not be the best for the health of the animal. So I am looking for some suggestions. I don't mind saving up some money for a 75 - 100g tank ( although my wife may kill me when she sees the prices!), but I wanted the next tank to be something my son could take ownership of. He is 10 and has been very good about taking care of the single fish and I oversee the feeding, cleaning and water/filter changes... looking for ideas on what different species may work for our situation.... thanks!

Newman

Elite Fish
Sep 22, 2009
Northern NJ
what tank is that goldfish in now? and is it still alive? also what type of goldfish is it? i'd say look for an upgrade tank for that one goldfish because a 10 gal wont cut it for long. even for one goldie you should get around 30 gal.

as for tropicals, you can fit a lot in a ten gal tank. go with smaller tetras/rasboras (id say a school of 7 of the same species) and if you can get them, try a school of pymgy corydoras. otherwise you can probably put one dwarf gourami in there or one male OR female betta.
be sure to use a heater and thermometer for the tropical 10 gallon.

if you decide to go with a 100 gallon, then your choices for fish just got multiplied by over 500.

JRB__

Large Fish
Oct 24, 2009
Australia
Hi Ben, Welcome to MFT!