The New Girl

Jun 20, 2010
Just joined today. Not only am I new to the forum but I'm new to the entire fish world. We bought our first tank (a fluval edge) about a month ago and not too long after we bought our second teank (a regular 10 gallon). Im enjoying it and we have become "addicted". Please share any thoughts or tips you have with me.

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia
Hi Justina, welcome!
Are these all in one tank, or split between the two tank you have?
I can tell you right away from experience you will want to get rid of that CAE - they are nasty and will eventually start to attack your other fish.
It would be great if you determine the proper names of the fish you have - e.g., what kind of pleco? and your 'mystery fish'? - so we can help you with their care and tank compatibility. You can also post pics and we'll try to identify them.
This is a super site with people who just want to help make sure your fish are happy, which makes for happy fishowners!
Cheers,
Laura

anshuman

Large Fish
Nov 16, 2009
Mumbai India
Welcome Justina.

Congrats on your getting fishtanks. I recommend you to go through AqAdvisor - Intelligent Freshwater Tropical Fish Aquarium Stocking Calculator and Aquarium Tank/Filter Advisor on stocking fish according to size of tank and filters. also tells you compatibility on tank-mates.

As laura said some fish are not compatible with each other, so better to give it back than loose good fish.

If you have camera or phone-cam , better post a pic or video so we can judge it. Feel free to fire away your questions query as you want. many here are always ready to help.

ryanoh

Large Fish
Mar 22, 2010
If I had to guess, that'd be a platy of some sort, which seems to be a pretty easy going fish that isn't going to cause problems. I didn't read the list of what you have, so some fish may have problems with him, but unless they're aggressive breeds, they should probably be fine.