Feeding a Gar

dr3am

New Fish
Jun 26, 2010
Hi. I am very new to this fish keeping world and need some help. I have a 55G tank just started it little over a month ago. I did all the things told. started it and let it run for 3 weeks before I added any fish. All the chemical level are OK.

I have in it, 6-7'' Albino Oscar, 6-7'' Gar, and 6'' Pleco. My Oscar will eat anything and everything I throw at it and it's always hungry. My concern is the Gar, I don't think that It is getting any food. How can I feed the Gar and keep the Oscar from taking that food.

My question is what should I feed the Gar and what is the best time. I have been putting live feeders at night thinking may be the Oscar will be less likely to eat them in dark. The fish are gone in the morning, but can't be certain that the Oscar is not eating them. Gar is very laid back and has not been moving too much during the day so I am thinking that Oscar is getting the food after all. How long can Gar live without food, because since I got it over a week a go, I don't think that it has gotten any food.

Should the Gar and Oscar be kept in the same tank or shouldn't be. They do get along very well riding on each other and hanging out in the corner together.

Thanks for any help!!!

Dr. Laser

Small Fish
Jun 24, 2010
If you have ever been fishing you know that gar are the most active in the morning as the sun comes up I would recommend feeding him in the morning. What type of gar? if it is a spotted gar then your looking at a 36 inch fish and at least a 72 gallon tank and if its a long nose gar your looking at at over 50 inches and at least a 100 gallon tank...

Feb 27, 2009
Hi. I am very new to this fish keeping world and need some help. I have a 55G tank just started it little over a month ago. I did all the things told. started it and let it run for 3 weeks before I added any fish. All the chemical level are OK.